FIVE REASONS TO STUDY AT READING UNIVERSITY

If you know me personally, you’ll know how much I love Reading University. I loved it from the moment I came to visit for the first time. As I am so passionate about the University, I thought it would be helpful (and amusing) to write about the reasons I love studying here. Although I enjoy my course (Psychology and Philosophy), there are many things other than this that make Reading an amazing University. In this post, I will focus on the ways Reading University promotes mental health and sustainability. However, if you would like more information about the University in general, please follow this link: https://www.reading.ac.uk/

Disclaimer: If currently trying to decide which University to go to, please pick one that feels the most suitable for you (and don’t take this post too seriously!)

  1. IT IS SO GREEN: The words I most commonly hear when students and visitors talk about the campus is “GREEN”. The campus has a lot of green area. It won a Green Flag Award and has also been voted top campus space in the UK. There is an area called the Wilderness, full of trees and wildlife, and the Harris Gardens, where I recently took part in mindfulness studies. It’s a great place to walk around when you are feeling stressed or anxious.
  2. SUSTAINABILITY: At Reading, there is a huge focus on sustainability. Not only are there recycling bins for all kinds of materials, the University promotes sustainability in a variety of ways. The environmental officer is currently promoting a campaign about Palm Oil awareness. Furthermore, there is a Student Union night coming up dedicated to Green Week! Plastic straws have been banned from campus on union nights and one of the cafés on campus is now zero-waste and vegan-friendly.
  3. THE PEOPLE ARE LOVELY: This is one of the things I noticed as soon as I arrived. Students who work at Reading are very friendly and enjoy talking about the University. Moreover, the staff are very approachable. From my first year, I have made an effort to get to know the Philosophy department, a unique group of Professors. This has been is a great way to build connections and gain extra academic and personal advice.
  4. MENTAL HEALTH: There is also a focus on Mental Health at Reading. The University often runs campaigns to promote positive well-being, such as ‘RUSU SAYS RELAX’. This has involved days where puppies and farm animals have come to campus in order to aid mindfulness and reduce stress levels around exam season. Additionally, there are now relaxation and nap pods in the Student’s Union, so that students can take some time out and relax. ‘Open Mind Reading’ is a society which also holds events to promote positive well-being, including free yoga and sport classes.
  5. SOCIETIES: Societies are a great way to meet like-minded people. In first year, I joined so many societies, but attended none by the end of the year. This year, I have made more of an effort to stay involved in groups that interest me.  Vegan and Vegetarian Society is great if you are interested in veganism and want to explore vegan-friendly restaurants. Moreover, Zero Waste Society has recently been formed by a Consumer Behaviour and Marketing student, who recently got in touch with me after reading my blog! I will be Welfare Rep next year and cannot wait to see all that this society achieves.

There many more reasons I would encourage you to visit Reading, however as this is already my longest blog post, I will leave you with five.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about studying here.

Thank you for reading!

Emily x

Leave a comment